Login | Register


All times are UTC - 5 hours


It is currently Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:33 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:21 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 284
Yo guys, I just wanted to know if you know of a good program to record your monitor. I tried camtasia but my fps goes from 70 to 25 on d2, and the video is laggy. is there a good program out there that doesnt eat out fps? Thanks


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:49 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4292
do you want to record the whole screen or just d2?

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:26 am
Posts: 490
Location: Richmond Va
Can go old school and use fraps.

_________________
I was never more at home than I was in battle. - Solomon Kane


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:03 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:51 pm
Posts: 90
try hypercam


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:02 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:11 am
Posts: 165
fraps?


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:56 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 284
Well at this point, I would like to record only Diablo.
Is hypercam good on system rescource?


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:13 am 

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:36 am
Posts: 971
Fraps is the best, adjust the FPS you're recording at if it's lagging.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:01 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 284
Debating on Hypercam or FRAPS...


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:32 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4292
I used fraps to do all the recording for the HU trailer. I never noticed any major fps drops while recording, its also very easy to use

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:06 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 284
PureRage-DoD wrote:
I used fraps to do all the recording for the HU trailer. I never noticed any major fps drops while recording, its also very easy to use


Thanks Pure, i'll try FRAPS and post a video on youtube tonight :D

Much appreciated for everyone else's replies.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:37 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:36 am
Posts: 971
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ieQqBkozDQk

Recorded with fraps, compressed with camtasia.

If you use an LCD, make sure to set the FPS it records at to your screen's refresh rate or it'll look laggy.

I'm sure there are other options, but Fraps is just generally the easiest, the toughest thing is getting the sound working properly(something I merely can't do if I'm using ventrilo, since it'll play my "what i hear" sounds when I try to talk or not record anything but my mic the whole time).


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 1:48 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 284
Yeah i have camtasia installed also. I still don't understand "setting the fps"

I run d2 @ 62 fps, would that mean i'd have to set the video at 62?


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 6:40 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:36 am
Posts: 971
My monitor, a 23" widescreen LCD, it's refresh rate is 60.

If you have a CRT, it doesn't really matter, but fraps lowers your fps to what you have it recording at so if you record at 30 FPS and have a refresh rate of 60 it'll look like it's lagging.

Just figure out your monitor's refresh rate and set fraps to record at that rate.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:00 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 284
if your refering refresh rate to the spec on the monitor, mine is 5ms i think.

So anyways i tried it but it only records a random amount of time for some reason? I use the hotkey "6" to start recording but it stops without me stoping it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:24 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:36 am
Posts: 971
Hertz rate

You need a licensed version, or a cracked version.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:27 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 284
Ahh alright thanks. And yeah i think mine is a 60 also. Maybe 120 since its a new model, but doubt it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ISO Screen Recorder
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:33 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:36 am
Posts: 971
Highly doubt 120.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: