Login | Register

All times are UTC - 5 hours

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:28 am

Post subject: Horrible frame rate in Vista
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:21 am 

Just wondering if anyone might know why I have such a horrible frame rate. I just started playing again after about 3 years and my frame rate actually seems worse on my new computer than on my old one.

I have a quad core gateway with 4gb ram and ATI radeon 4600 series video card. I have vista 64 bit as my OS. I know it's not the best but I didn't think I'd have issues with diablo 2. I know it's video lag I'm getting. I run /fps and it shows me around 60 fps when I'm alone, but then drops to 2-7 fps when I run with a party.

My drivers are fully updated on my card and I'm always up to date on windows updates, so I really don't know what else to do.

I'm obviously not the best with computers so if anyone has any ideas on how I could fix this they would be much appreciated.

Offline Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Horrible frame rate in Vista
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:54 pm 

are playing fullscreen or window mode

Offline Profile  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:57 pm 
Game Server Host

My fps only really drops against the odd boss. I run vista on a pretty basic laptop. Can handle full screen 3d mode without any major fps drops though i usualy play windowed to make switching loaders easier when self partying.

try runing the vid test and set it to 2d. If that dont work run it in windowed mode.

Offline Profile  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:42 pm 

I'm playing full screen 3d mode.

Oh well, guess I'll just have to deal with it.

Offline Profile  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:54 pm 
Game Server Host

run vid test and change to 2d mode. its not much better in 3d anyway and 2d is alot easier on your comp

Offline Profile  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:03 pm 

try to run it in XPSp2 compatibility, also check disable visual themes(?) and desktop