Login | Register


All times are UTC - 5 hours


It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:37 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Game crashes
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:45 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:42 pm
Posts: 5
Game crashes each time I try to join or create a game and I get this error message "Cannot load D2 Client.dll: Error 182"

What is happening?


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:39 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:01 pm
Posts: 1383
Need to give a bit more background if this is going to be solved. First install? What OS, where is the mod saved, hi or low res, etc.

_________________
The reader should not be discouraged if...he does not have the prerequisites to read the prerequisites. P. Halmos


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:39 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:42 pm
Posts: 5
Sorry this is my first time here.

OS is Windows 7 64 bit.
It was installed to drive C not program files
Mod was unzipped into the Diablo 2 folder.

I'm not sure what you meant by Hi res/ low res


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:01 pm
Posts: 1383
You need the 1.3f core and either the hires dl or lowres dl. Did you download 1 or 2 things?

Did you run D2modsetup? I assume so if you got onto the network.
Also on win7, you may want to disable desktop composition and visual themes and run in compatibility mode.

_________________
The reader should not be discouraged if...he does not have the prerequisites to read the prerequisites. P. Halmos


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:43 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:42 pm
Posts: 5
I downloaded the core files this morning. Hi res. I installed them into the Diablo 2 folder. I'm still getting the same error when I try to create or join a game. I also tried disabling desktop composition, running in compatibility mode as well as disabling visual themes.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:27 pm 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4292
You need the core + your package of choice. The cores hold the .dll's etc. (everything that isn't clientside)

The packages contain everything else.

If you got the NonD2SE core, you then choose what client version you want (High or low resolution, with music or without music).

Highres full = High resolution + music.
Highres lite = High resolution but with no music.
Lowres full = Standard d2 resolution with music.
Lowres lite = Standard d2 resolution without music.


It may be a win7 issue. I believe theres a topic somewhare regarding win7 fix.

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:31 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:01 pm
Posts: 1383
If you have copied the core files and the hires addition at different times then you probably need to rerun D2ModSetup. Note that if you already ran this, then it will first tell you it is uninstalled...i.e. you gotta run it twice so that it says it is installed.

You successfully got onto the Arimyth realms right?

_________________
The reader should not be discouraged if...he does not have the prerequisites to read the prerequisites. P. Halmos


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:25 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:42 pm
Posts: 5
Is there a step by step guide on the forum? That way I can follow it and make sure it isn't me being dumb on the installation.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:20 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:01 pm
Posts: 1383
The main download and install thread is pretty thorough in its explanation. There is some variance with OS. Win7 is more of a pain that others due to how adminstrative tasks are handled...make sure to run most everything as the admin or sometimes shit just doesn't work...

_________________
The reader should not be discouraged if...he does not have the prerequisites to read the prerequisites. P. Halmos


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:22 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:42 pm
Posts: 5
Thank you for all the help I got it working just now. One thing though, why is there no sound? I hit ESC to bring up the menu and the sound option is a darker shade and I can't click on it


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game crashes
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:40 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:01 pm
Posts: 1383
Did you get hires light version by chance? That or hit Ctrl+M

_________________
The reader should not be discouraged if...he does not have the prerequisites to read the prerequisites. P. Halmos


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron