Login | Register


All times are UTC - 5 hours


It is currently Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:59 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:01 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 345
Location: Vancouver, BC
Sooo I know it's a compatibility problem as I can run it with that windows check compatibility option, albeit without the proper arguments. But I find it very strange that this just happened out of nowhere. I suppose there could have been a windows update I didn't know installed or whatever but just kinda happened.

I cannot use the windows compatibility tool that ms provides because I'm only running home edition and not pro apparently I didn't pay enough to MS for this service.

Is there anyway to run the game other than doing it with the check? Again I have to runt he check everytime which is annoying enough not to mention it isn't running with the proper arguments.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 345
Location: Vancouver, BC
Running 64 bit.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:29 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:11 am
Posts: 977
your OS?

_________________
“Education has failed in a very serious way to convey the most important lesson science can teach: skepticism”


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:10 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 345
Location: Vancouver, BC
windows 7 64bit home edition.

maybe it just installed random updates or something -_-;;


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:02 pm
Posts: 1627
.


Last edited by Steel on Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:38 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 345
Location: Vancouver, BC
Just won't load whatsoever, so I suppose it's crash instantly. Going to try those video settings and your other suggestions right now, as for windowed mode I always use this.

Also when i right click the program and run compatibility test I can start the game.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:41 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 345
Location: Vancouver, BC
Hmm any other suggestions appreciated :) Not sure what effect it has on the game not being able to run it with the proper flags from the .bat file.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:34 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 345
Location: Vancouver, BC
Message about windows color scheme's seems to come up when trying to run the game.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:29 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 345
Location: Vancouver, BC
Reinstalled the game and got it running again.

Oddly enough when the new .exe file was created for diablo it kept my settings from before.. so apparently uninstalling doesn't get rid of everything...
(yes I deleted the d2 folder after uninstalling).

Anyways game is up and running again I'm going to have to hope it 'suddenly' doesn't screw up again.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Game decided to stop working
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 am
Posts: 345
Location: Vancouver, BC
After installing a few new programs on this computer, one which needed a reboot the game has compatibility issues again.

Seems to happen everytime something new is installed that needs to update something with windows.

Not sure if I'm going to reinstall again :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: