Login | Register


All times are UTC - 5 hours


It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:31 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 2:58 am 

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:24 am
Posts: 48
Whenever I try to run d2modsetup to install the mod, it doesn't run. I'll get a really, really quick flash of a cmd window and that's it. No errors pop up or anything. It doesn't ever go anywhere. I can click over and over, but all that ever happens is the quick flash of a cmd window every time.

I've tried a fresh reinstall of D2 and redownload of the 2.0 patch. Still the same thing. I have the stuff set to run as admin, run in WinXp SP2/3, all that yet nothing. I'm using Windows 7 64bit.

Could really use some help if anybody has any ideas, or knows why this might be happening.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:23 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:28 am
Posts: 1109
Location: Vancouver, BC
Consider using D2SE, that way you won't need to run d2modsetup.bat. The main change after installing D2SE is that you'll start D2 via D2SE.exe, and you'll have to move the HUv2.0 files into a folder within the "Mods" folder.

Alternatively, you could download Ensley03's Filetree, which has a version of HU already included, so you could use that as an example and just make a new folder for HUv2.0.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:09 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:24 am
Posts: 48
Brevan wrote:
Consider using D2SE, that way you won't need to run d2modsetup.bat. The main change after installing D2SE is that you'll start D2 via D2SE.exe, and you'll have to move the HUv2.0 files into a folder within the "Mods" folder.

Alternatively, you could download Ensley03's Filetree, which has a version of HU already included, so you could use that as an example and just make a new folder for HUv2.0.


The problem with D2SE is that it isn't loading/installing the mod either. It'll load D2, but it's the vanilla version without the mod installed, even when I have the 2.0 folder in the MODS folder. I scroll down and selection HU in the D2SE list and it says the Version is 1.7b and the D2Core is 1.10f to the right, but when I click start d2 at the top it just opens up a vanilla version of 1.10 d2...


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 5:18 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:24 am
Posts: 48
I have no clue, the d2modsetup file seems like it's messed up or something. I've tried everything and nothing is working. Guess my HU playing days are over.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:41 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 7:24 pm
Posts: 992
Yes it says 1.7b for me too. That's just a client text edit and has no bearing on what the patch is.

Don't click start D2, scroll down on the left and double click on hell unleashed.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:00 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:24 am
Posts: 48
Ensley03 wrote:
Yes it says 1.7b for me too. That's just a client text edit and has no bearing on what the patch is.

Don't click start D2, scroll down on the left and double click on hell unleashed.


I tried that as well and it still didn't work. I'll give it one more fresh reinstall of d2 and see if it works.

I'm using the original D2 disks to install so it's going to be patch 1.07 on d2 when finished. Since I'm trying to use D2SE now, do I still need to add the 1.10 patch files to update it for HU? Or since it's going through D2SE, they'll already be added for me? I have the files and was adding them before since I wasn't using D2SE, I just don't know if that matters or not with it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:18 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 7:24 pm
Posts: 992
I don't even remember anymore, just download the full 1.9 solo folder and drop the 2.0 files on top of it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:59 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:24 am
Posts: 48
Ok after a fresh reinstall it finally gave me some errors and I guess I was missing some .mpq files. I got em now and it seems to be up and running :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: D2ModSetup.bat wont run. Please Help
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 8:51 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 7:24 pm
Posts: 992
hooray


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: