Login


All times are UTC - 5 hours


It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:11 am




   [ 40 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:57 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
Some people including myself have had problems with the downloadable disks from blizzard. I know people who had no problems getting them or the mod to work but I had some problems.

The first problem I had was getting them to actually start the game, sometimes the game would start with the shortcut, sometimes it would ask me to insert a disk.
To get round it for this mod, simply use the loader provided at the bottom this thread. Make a shortcut of the loader and right click it, click on properties and on the Target line at the end add -direct -txt. There is a space between the end of the line and the first - and between the end of direct and the next -. Make sure it is right. This is needed in order for the latest 1.21z update to work. IE. "C:\Users\Admin09\Desktop\diablo stuff\HU\NewLoader.exe" -direct -txt <--This is how mine looks
The update can be found here. This is for multiplayer only!

The other problem I had was patching the game with these virtual disks. I tried going straight to 1.10 and that didn't work. For some reason, I would get an error every time I tried to start the game. To fix this I Downloaded the 1.09 patch found here, then upgraded to 1.10
the 1.10 files can be found here

These are the only 2 problems I have encountered personally with the disks from blizzards site. I had the problem on 2 computers, but not on my old computer. If there are any other problems post them here and any solutions you have found.


Attachments:
NewLoader.rar [16.19 KiB]
Downloaded 3027 times

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Last edited by PureRage-DoD on Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems?
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:44 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:42 am
Posts: 723
here what I did...
start from scratch
download the game from battle.net

it'll give u the newest patch possible


download this http://ingame.ingame.de/filebase/index.php/?action=download&fid=2546&cid=325

and copy the game.exe into ur d2 folder.... it'll be overwritten say yes...

download the 1.10 patch http://www.4players.de/4players.php/download_info/Downloads/Download/5649/Diablo_2_Lord_of_Destruction/Patch_110.html


now ur at 1.10....

install ur loader into the d2 folder create ur shortcuts.. then go through the process of installing HU and then the small update to HU


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems?
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:31 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:34 am
Posts: 391
I just downloaded the torrent version mancer described so I could use the links he provided for downgrading and then installing the mod. Never had a problem ever.

_________________
iz a secret


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems?
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:45 pm 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
oZio wrote:
I just downloaded the torrent version mancer described so I could use the links he provided for downgrading and then installing the mod. Never had a problem ever.


Yeh, some people dont like using torrents (maybe they dont like the eye patch and peg leg :lol: )
If you have your original cd keys you can dl from blizz that way. They can be a total bitch to get working sometimes though

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems?
Posted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:06 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 54
thanks for this now i can get some new players to join HU :)

_________________
Jesus is Lord


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems?
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:11 pm 

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:09 pm
Posts: 5
You should sticky this, a lot of people I know have this problem.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems?
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:58 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:48 am
Posts: 2432
Big-L wrote:
You should sticky this, a lot of people I know have this problem.


ok - done

_________________
People who live in cinder block houses can throw whatever they want.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:29 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 54
hunteras link is down but i think i got the file i uploaded it here

http://rapidshare.com/files/435390149/R ... 109LoD.zip

it reverts i think any version of diablo 2 even the most new too 1.09 then you just normally install 1.10

_________________
Jesus is Lord


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:20 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:40 pm
Posts: 4
Okay, so when I re-downloaded everything, everything is cool, except this, I keep getting a trojan detection when I try to run it. I am so close to finishing hell. I just need this to work lol.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:38 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:48 am
Posts: 2432
ya - my virus protector always wipes out the realm selecter file (can't remember the name of it), so I generally have to re-download it now and then.

The file hosted off this forum (located here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=596) are clean though

_________________
People who live in cinder block houses can throw whatever they want.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:21 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:17 pm
Posts: 2
I have a digital copy of D2 and LOD install on my XP system. I have downgraded it to 1.10 and installed Hell Unleashed. When I attempt to execute it from the .bat file, it tells me to insert the disk. When I attempt to use the patched loader, it acts as if its loading (mouse change thing, no screen change) then stops. I'd like a solution.
/edit fixed.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:27 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:23 pm
Posts: 2
I downloaded D2 and LOD from Blizzard and was put to 1.12. I ran This link to downgrade to 1.09. Then ran This link to upgrade to 1.10. now that my language is German *Would love English..*, I followed the steps in the .doc file.

I copied the HU files into the directory, ran D2ModSetup and installed it, and when I run the .bat file it says Socket Open, but in German it's asking me to insert the disk.

not sure where to go from here.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:37 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
get the loader, and start the game with that. That solves the no disk problem

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:49 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:31 am
Posts: 54
can someone re-host the rapidshare file? it's reached its 10 download max and I'm unable to dl it...


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:04 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:31 am
Posts: 54
never mind, i was able to get it working with just the newloader file - thanks purerage for the tutorial :D


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:40 am 

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:50 am
Posts: 4
old problem fixed, new problem created.

So I downloaded the loader, I reset my patch to 1.10 and reinstalled the mod onto the loader and put the -direct -txt -w into the target. all works fine, it loads in windowed mode and i get to the create/join screen. I can chat and all that. but when i try to make or join a game i get this error:

Assertion failure
Location : D2Common\DATATBLS\DataTbls.cpp, line #2190
Expression : pdData

then when i click it i get the "we've got a big problem"
so any idea's wat this error is for now?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:56 pm 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
that looks like a problem with one of the d2modplugins. Try running d2modsetup again (if it asks to remove, say yes and run again until it asks you to install)

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:00 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:03 pm
Posts: 3
how do you go back to 1.09 so i can go to 1.10 it wont lat me it keep saying that i have 1.12


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:55 pm 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
here are the unmodified 1.10 .dll's, move them into the HU folder, then copy the HU package over the top.

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:44 am 

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:03 pm
Posts: 3
still i get it asking for a cd how do i get around this is been like 2 years sance i play with mods lol


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:45 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
use the loader attatched in the first post.

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:52 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:37 am
Posts: 3
Hello I'm new to the HU world but it seems pretty great. I too have downloadable disks from battle.net and was getting the no CD error. I downloaded the Loader(which came in a .rar file?) When I try to run Loader.exe -direct -text it gives me "Application has failed to run. STORM.dll is missing. anyone have any ideas? I don't fully understand the -direct -text my loader.exe just says new loader in the properties name, not C:/programfiles etc. etc. as you have described, did I do something wrong?

Edit: Fixed, off to club some fallen!


Last edited by Quickle on Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:55 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
you moved the loader into your HU folder, then made a shortcut to it to start it with?. It has to be inside the mod folder (overwrite if it asks you too).

Once you made the shortcut, then right click it and go to properties and add -direct -txt or whatever you need.

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:40 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:45 am
Posts: 977
was using wrong loader fixed can load multiple chars now at once


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:33 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:20 am
Posts: 121
Trtying to click on dl link for loader and it says file not found?? Can someone fix it or tell me another place to get loader???


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:22 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
working for me, wierd

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:15 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 477
everytime i try to start with the loader, nothing happens?

i just push it, then i goes like 5 seconds, and nothing have happended.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:26 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:47 am
Posts: 615
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
do you have the -direct -txt in the target line on the shortcut?

_________________
Its always in the last place you look....


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 6:29 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 477
yup i have, added them in the shortcut on the desktop


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:11 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 477
its like the game starts to run for 3-5 seconds, i can see a progress starting and shit.
Then it suddenly just shutsdown..

even viewer says something like :

Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: PCA2
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: NewLoader.exe
P2: 1.0.0.1
P3: Diablo II
P4: D2Loader by Onlyer
P5: Tsinghua Unversity
P6: 200
P7: -1
P8:
P9:
P10:

and

Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: PCA2
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: Game.exe
P2: 1.0.10.39
P3: Diablo II
P4: Blizzard North Diablo II
P5: Blizzard North
P6: 200
P7: -1
P8:
P9:
P10:


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:19 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 477
anyone have a solution for this?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:51 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
hex edit d2gfx.dll with XVI32 or something similar, to allow opening multiple d2 instances with game.exe instead of using loader. I posted the locations here somewhare im sure.

Edit:
PureRage wrote:
d2gfx.dll at 0x446A

change 74 to EB

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 4:10 am
Posts: 477
PureRage-DoD wrote:
hex edit d2gfx.dll with XVI32 or something similar, to allow opening multiple d2 instances with game.exe instead of using loader. I posted the locations here somewhare im sure.

Edit:
PureRage wrote:
d2gfx.dll at 0x446A

change 74 to EB


so maybe a noob question, but how do I do that? :oops:

in regedit or? cant seem to find it there somewhere :(

*edit saw the XVI32 program you linked :)
is it just straight forward?


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:29 am 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4286
yeh, simply open the d2gfx.dll for HU and look for the cell number above.

Not sure if you've used anything like it before but its a very simple program.

0x446A = cell 446A
the cell you are at is listed along the bottom of the program.

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:34 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:44 pm
Posts: 36
PureRage-DoD wrote:
The other problem I had was patching the game with these virtual disks. I tried going straight to 1.10 and that didn't work. For some reason, I would get an error every time I tried to start the game. To fix this I Downloaded the 1.09 patch found here, then upgraded to 1.10
the 1.10 files can be found here


ok so i put the bnet 1.09 thing into my folder after installing lod. but it says prepatch failed in the log, and it says its still 1.12 when i load the game. so prepatching down to 1.09 didnt work? what am i supposed to do other than put the thing into the d2 folder with the game? i tried to run it, that didnt do anything. im going to just drop the 1.10 one into the folder now i guess... and keep trying to install the game. hope it works >_<...

.... so did all that, ran the loader with the -direct -txt and everything. NO DICE. owned again. The ordinal 10040 could not be located in the dynamic link library D2Net.dll
le sigh.........


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Fri May 25, 2012 4:21 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:30 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
I had problems with the loader (not running at all or missing .dll file error), but then I messed around with the shortcut and it finally works, atleast for me. I'm using Windows XP Home Edition, and I have disks installation, not digital download. The loader works for me just by selecting "Disable visual themes" in the shortcut's properties. Just letting you guys know how I "fixed" my loader. May be it'll be helpful for the other guys who have problems.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 9:37 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:12 am
Posts: 103
So can anyone reboot this thread? Since my desktop died I had to resort to downloading the files from blizzard and it won't work. Need the 1.09 stuff :(


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:47 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 4:34 am
Posts: 348
nova , you should try getting discs from a torrent then . getting the licence though is needed if you want to play regular d2.

_________________
'may the force be with you' - Yoda??


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 12:34 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:12 am
Posts: 103
Kannli wrote:
nova , you should try getting discs from a torrent then . getting the licence though is needed if you want to play regular d2.



I have the disks through blizzard with my CD key, it's just I can't revert it back to work with HU. It never seems to want to launch. They were saying reverting to 1.09 then to 1.10 worked, but I don't have 1.09.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Downloaded Disks from Blizzard Problems? + Loader
Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 2:05 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:28 am
Posts: 1091
Location: Vancouver, BC
The problem with Blizzard's online CDs is that they're LoD v1.14, which isn't compatible with the D2SE mod manager (supports anything up to v1.13), and certainly not HU (must use v1.10, which D2SE can pretend to be).

Consider downloading Ensley03's File Tree if you want to play HU. It already has D2SE in it last I heard, so you just have to make a new folder in the Mods folder for the HU version you're after. If you're not familiar with D2SE, then it's pretty painless to figure out, and there's already some threads for the common questions. I'm sure folks won't mind answering any you come up with though.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
   [ 40 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron