Login | Register


All times are UTC - 5 hours


It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:36 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about some internals
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:51 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:38 pm
Posts: 3
Ok, so I've been playing HU off and on for a while now, and I've decided I'd like to start modding my base Diablo install myself. I'm just wondering how you guys get the Hirelings to equip non-standard items. I've got the MercMod dll loaded, and I've got a new inventory screen for the merc, but I haven't been able to figure out how to get it to equip non-standard items.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about some internals
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:08 pm 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4292
you don't need the hard coded plugin, I managed to do it purely through the txt files :D

http://phrozenkeep.hugelaser.com/forum/ ... =4&t=56363

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about some internals
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:38 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:38 pm
Posts: 3
I just tried that, and things are broken now. I tried making a new character, and got a Generic Bad File error. Also, the reason I wanted to use a plugin to do it was to avoid mangling things as much as possible. I'm trying to make a slightly tweaked D2, rather than a huge mod.

the other thing is that I'd love to see if it's possible to actually give your hireling real inventory space, and a belt (though god knows what I might have to do to get the AI to use the belt).


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about some internals
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 5:08 pm 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4292
it should work without any problems, I know a good few people who mod 1.13 are using it without any problems. You can give the real inventory space by using the softcoded method and just add hlm1 as the equiv1 of charms.

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about some internals
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 5:29 pm 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4292
forgot to add, you are using plugy with the shared stash, there are rings and amulets in the stash, thats whats causing the bad inventory data. remove the -direct -txt from shortcut, enter game and remove all jewelery (they have the wrong itemtype since its been changed) and try again.

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about some internals
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:44 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:38 pm
Posts: 3
Once again, that's only a partial fix. I didn't just want to toss charms on my hireling. I'd ultimately like the hireling to be able to act as a bit of extra inventory space, just like the cube can.

The problem with the inventory space is that it doesn't even show up as space. Instead of showing a red "you can't put that there" background when I try to drop items on it, it acts as though there's no inventory there at all.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about some internals
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:11 pm 
Game Server Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:33 am
Posts: 4292
you need to edit inventory.txt yourself to do that
You can't put anything on them that wont count as "Equipped". you could make an inventory, but anything you put in it would be "equipped" in effect. Just increase the cube size abit and if you are using plugy there should be no problem with lack of stash storage space.

_________________
Bron wrote:
There's no cure for being a cunt.


Top
 Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron