Login | Register

All times are UTC - 5 hours

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:23 am

Post subject: Gambling in HU
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 11:24 am 

Hi

I'v noticed that it's pretty much impossible to gamble Elite items in Hell Unleashed. This might be intentional, or not. I have examined the DifficultyLevels.txt -file (which can be used to define gambling odds) and I have noticed that the values used for gambling exceptional and elite items are... illogical.

I'm not very good at explaining stuff in english since it's not my native language but I'll try.

DifficultyLevels.txt has two columns for exceptional/elite gambling; GambleUber and GambleUltra. GambleUber is used to define the odds for gambling exceptional items and GambleUltra is for elite items. HU has values 4000/2000 for these colums in Hell difficulty. Due the nature how gambling in d2 works, it's almost impossible to gamble normal / elite items on hell difficulty right now. D2 first calculates the probability to gamble exceptional item (ignoring GambleUltra value) and if upgrade to exceptional does not happen, it calculates normal/elite next. This means that if there is 90% probability to gamble exceptional item, 10% is left for normal/elite items regardless of GambleUltra (elite items) value. Now with value of 4000 GambleUber, odds for exceptinal items are almost always over 100% and thus elite items are very difficult to gamble (with character same level as the desired item, there is a low chance for elite item to spawn from gamble).

Gambling set and unique items is simple in Diablo 2. It's plain % probability (100000 / GambleRare or GambleSet or GambleUnique -value) while gamble for exceptional and elite items is more complex.

Gambling exceptional and elite items is explained here: http://d2mods.info/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15203 see second and last post.

I made simple calculator to demonstrate (and to experiement) gambling odds: -