Login | Register

All times are UTC - 5 hours

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:12 am

Post subject: My Barb hits like a girl :(
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:02 pm 

Im new to the mod and playing HC. My barb, planned to be WW, is currently level 25 and hits for ~75-150 damage. I know my gear is horrible (Albrecht twohanded and the armor are the best items I have), but I feel like I should still be able to clear trash in less than 15 hits.

I tried to solo Blood Raven at level 21 and only got her about 1/2 way before I had used all my potions. I had a teeth necro come when we killed Andariel and he cleared a huge room in the time it took me to kill 1 trash monster.

My stats and skills are all going to Vit and Inc Stam, and soon into party life buff. I think I can take a fair amount of damage, but cant deal any.

Am I missing something on the barb, or is this how they play until I get Inc Stam and Battle Orders maxed 21 levels from now?

Offline Profile  
 Post subject: Re: My Barb hits like a girl :(
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:54 pm 

Barbs are great early game at absorbing damage, but not so great at dishing it out. That's just the balance to their character, otherwise you would have a character that has awesome survival skills AND awesome damage skills and why wouldn't everyone just play that character?

Best bet is to team up with a heavy dmg dealer to crank through the game. After you have a stockpile of goodies, you can make early game barbs that do lots of damage, but it is tough to do without overpowered items.

Offline Profile  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 2:04 pm 

I did pick the Barb because of the survivability for HC. I just wasn't expecting the damage output to be so wimpy. Guess I will go find me some glass cannons to protect.

Offline Profile  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 3:10 pm 

Risiko wrote: